U.S. Masonic Presidents

Ever wondered which U.S. Presidents were members of Freemasonry?

Lets us answer that for you!

Of the 45 people who have been President of the United States, roughly one-third (14) were Freemasons.

Along with the presidents listed below, Lyndon B. Johnson had been initiated into the 1st Degree of Freemasonry (an “Entered Apprentice”) but did not advance any further and did not become a full member of his lodge, Ronald Reagan was made an honorary Freemason, and Bill Clinton as a youth was a member of the Order of DeMolay. 

George Washington Freemason

George Washington

1st President

Initiated on November 4, 1752 in Fredericksburgh Lodge No. 4, Fredericksburg, Virginia. Elected Worshipful Master on December 20, 1788.

James Buchanan Freemason

James Buchanan

15th President

Initiated on December 1l, 1816 in Lodge No. 43, Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Appointed District Deputy Grand Master for the Counties of Lancaster, Lebanon and York in 1824.

Theodore Roosevelt Freemason

Theodore Roosevelt

26th President

Initiated on January 2, 1901 in Matinecock Lodge No. 806, Oyster Bay, New York.

Harry S. Truman Freemason

Harry S. Truman

33rd President

Initiated on February 9, 1909 in Belton Lodge No. 450, Belton, Missouri. First Worshipful Master of Grandview Lodge No. 618, Grandview, Missouri in 1911. Elected Grand Master of Missouri on September 25, 1940 and served until October 1, 1941. Received the 33rd Degree on October 19, 1945. Made Honorary Grand Master of the Order of DeMolay on May 18, 1959.

James Monroe Freemason

James Monroe

5th President

Initiated on November 9, 1775 in Williamsburg Lodge No. 6, Williamsburg, Virginia at the age of 17 while he studied at the College of William & Mary.

William Howard Taft Freemason

William Howard Taft

27th President

Made a Mason at Sight on February 18, 1909 in Kilwinning Lodge No. 356, Cincinnati, Ohio

Andrew Johnson Freemason

Andrew Johnson

17th President

Initiated on May 5, 1851 in Greenville Lodge No. 119, Greenville, Tennessee.

Gerald Ford Freemason

Gerald Ford

38th President

Initiated on September 30, 1949 in Malta Lodge No. 465, Grand Rapids, Michigan. Passed on April 20, 1951 and raised on May 18 of that year in Columbia Lodge No. 3, Washington, D.C. Received the 33rd Degree on September 26, 1962. Made Honorary Grand Master of the Order of DeMolay in April 1975.

Andrew Jackson Freemason

Andrew Jackson

7th President

Member of St. Tammany (later Harmony) Lodge No. 1, Nashville, Tennessee. Elected Grand Master of Tennessee on October 7, 1822 and served until October 4, 1824.

James A. Garfield Freemason

James A. Garfield

20th President

Initiated on November 19, 1861 in Magnolia Lodge No. 20, Columbus, Ohio and raised on November 22, 1864 in Columbus Lodge No. 30. Joined Garrettsville Lodge No. 246, Garrettsville, Ohio in 1866 and was its Chaplain for the years 1868-69. Charter Member of Pentalpha Lodge No. 23, Washington, D.C.

Warren G. Harding Freemason

Warren G. Harding

29th President

Initiated on June 28, 1901 in Marion Lodge No. 70, Marion, Ohio. Raised on August 27, 1920 in that Lodge. 

James Polk Freemason

James K. Polk

7th President

Initiated on June 5, 1820 in Columbia Lodge No. 31, Columbia, Tennessee.

William McKinley Freemason

William McKinley

25th President

Initiated on May 1, 1865 in Hiram Lodge No. 21, Winchester, Virginia. Joined Canton Lodge No. 60, Canton, Ohio in 1867. Charter member of Eagle (later William McKinley) Lodge No. 431, also in Canton.

Franklin D. Roosevelt Freemason

Franklin D. Roosevelt

32nd President

Initiated on October 11, 1911 in Holland Lodge No. 8, New York City. Made Honorary Grand Master of the Order of DeMolay on April 13, 1934. 

Phoenix Lodge 346

Established Under the Grand Lodge of Free and Accepted Masons of Florida

240 S Tuttle Ave, Sarasota, FL 34237



Website by DotBat